Cycling in the Lake District


In stock


Cycling in the Lake District Cicerone Guide Book

Week-long tours and day rides

Cycling in the Lake District Cicerone Guide Book

Cycling in the Lake District describes a 5-day cycle tour of the Lake District; plus there are 15 challenging day rides from Keswick, Ambleside, Penrith and bases southwest and southeast of the National Park.

2 options each day for the cycle tour, plus a 7-day alternative itinerary.

The guide book also outlines other tours including the 112-mile Fred Whitton Challenge, which takes in 7 iconic passes. Step-by-step route descriptions are accompanied by either 1:100,000 or 1:200,000 mapping, together with details on gradient, major climbs and cafes/pubs en route.

Also included is a comprehensive ‘what to take’ checklist plus other practical information such as preparing your bike, packing for a cycle tour, fuelling your ride and more.

This comprehensive guidebook also details accommodation options and useful contacts plus information on the district’s geology, landscape, plants and wildlife.

With its picturesque lakes, lush green dales and high passes, the Lake District offers some of the most scenic and challenging cycling in Britain.

Whether touring or day tripping, England’s largest National Park will leave you (literally and metaphorically) breathless.

A tour of the Lake District
The Eastern and Far Eastern Fells
Stage 1A Ambleside to Troutbeck over Kirkstone Pass
Stage 1B Ambleside to Troutbeck via Shap
The Northern Fells
Stage 2A Troutbeck to Keswick via Threlkeld
Stage 2B Troutbeck to Keswick via Hesket Newmarket
The North Western Fells
Stage 3A Keswick to Cockermouth over the passes
Stage 3B Keswick to Cockermouth via Lorton
The Western Fells
Stage 4A Cockermouth to Eskdale Green via Ennerdale Green
Stage 4B Cockermouth to Eskdale Green via Egremont
The Southern and Central Fells
Stage 5A Eskdale Green to Ambleside over the passes
Stage 5B Eskdale Green to Ambleside via Coniston and Hawkshead
Day rides
Ambleside and the Central Lakes
Route 1 Over the Wrynose and Hardknott passes from Ambleside
Route 2 Around the Central Fells
Route 3 A circuit of the Eastern Fells from Ambleside
Penrith and the North East
Route 4 Haweswater and Ullswater from Shap
Route 5 Lowther Park and Ullswater from Penrith
Route 6 Around Inglewood Forest
Keswick and the North West
Route 7 Loop around the Back o’ Skiddaw
Route 8 Whinlatter and Honister passes from Keswick
Route 9 Across Allerdale
The South West
Route 10 Back o’ Sellafield and Wasdale Head
Route 11 The Far South West from Ravenglass
Route 12 Around the Furness Fells from Broughton
The South East
Route 13 Around Grizedale Forest
Route 14 Across Windermere from Cartmel
Route 15 A circuit around Whitbarrow

Appendix A Useful contacts
Appendix B Accommodation
Appendix C What to take
Appendix D Further reading

Cycling in the Lake District Cicerone Guide Book

Author: Richard Barrett
No of Pages: 201
Page Size: 116 x 172 mm
ISBN 10: 1852847786
ISBN 13: 9781852847784
Publisher: Cicerone Press
Published Date: May 2016
Edition: 1st ed, May 2016
Binding: Paperback
Illustrations: Colour photos and maps
Weight: 240g

See our blog post, Cycling in the Lake District and Cumbria


You may also like…