Cycling the Pennine Bridleway

Original price was: £15.95.Current price is: £12.95.

In stock


Cycling the Pennine Bridleway

Lancashire and the Yorkshire Dales Stages

Cycling the Pennine Bridleway

Cycling the Pennine Bridleway is a guide to the Lancashire and Yorkshire stages of the Pennine Bridleway, also including 11 mountain-bike routes in the western Yorkshire Dales from along the Bridleway route.

The guide book starts from the Mary Towneley Loop in northern Lancashire and runs via the Yorkshire Dales to Ravenstonedale in Cumbria.

The route offers exceptional off-road riding in one of the most beautiful and unspoilt areas of Britain, on dedicated, waymarked trails. Classic trails rejuvenated, newly-built river crossings and, most exciting of all, sections of specially-developed bridleway are all out there, just waiting to be discovered!

This guidebook describes over 176km of the Bridleway, from Summit, near Rochdale, up to Ravenstonedale, through the rugged landscape of the Yorkshire Dales National Park, as well as 11 exciting, graded MTB loops based on the Bridleway but taking in other, less well-known stretches of trail, making a total of 384km of unrivalled mountain biking.

Cycling the Pennine Bridleway - the route

There’s something new here from everyone – from the novice rider to the trail-hardened pro and from cyclists trying the Yorkshire Dales for the first time to those who think they know them well.

The routes are clearly described and illustrated with profiles and OS mapping extracts, data on distance, ascent, grading, timing and percentage of route off-road at the start of every description for quick selection. There is full information about local facilities, useful contacts, accommodation and bike shops.

Cycling the Pennine Bridleway - sample pages

Sections of the Book

Section 1: The Mary Towneley Loop
Summit to Hurstwood (anti-clockwise)
Section 2: A linear description of the Pennine Bridleway
The Lancashire Link
Part 1 Hurstwood to Barnoldswick
Part 2 Barnoldswick to Long Preston
The Yorkshire Dales
Part 1 Long Preston to Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Part 2 Horton-in-Ribblesdale to Garsdale Head
Part 3 Garsdale Head to Ravenstonedale
Section 3: Day Loops off the Pennine Bridleway
Route 1 The Settle Loop
Route 2 Feizor, Wharfe and Catrigg Force
Route 3 Clapham, Crummack Dale and Feizor
Route 4 Horton-in-Ribblesdale, Helwith Bridge and Sulber Nick
Route 5 Ribblehead to Ling Gill and Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Route 6 Ribblehead to Dentdale, via The Craven Way
Route 7 Cam High Road and the Ribble Way
Route 8 Arten Gill, Dent Head Viaduct and the Driving Road
Route 9 Garsdale to Dentdale, via Dandra Garth
Route 10 Lady Anne’s Highway and the Mallerstang Valley
Route 11 Ravenstonedale, Pendragon Castle & High Dolphinsty

For more information on cycling in the area, see the blog post Cycling in the Yorkshire Dales.

Cycling the Pennine Bridleway – Lancashire and the Yorkshire Dales

Author: Bradbury
No of Pages: 198
Page Size: 115 x 175 mm
ISBN 10: 1852846550
ISBN 13: 9781852846558
Publisher: Cicerone Press
Published Date: May 2012
Edition: 1st, May 2012
Binding: Paperback (encapsulated)
Illustrations: Full colour with os 1:50k mapping
Weight: 280g


You may also like…