National Byway Cycle Maps

National Byway route
National Byway route

Ever wondered what the brown National Byway signs are that you might see around the country?

The National Byway is a 4,500-mile (7,240 km.) waymarked cycling route round England and parts of Scotland and Wales.

The map here shows the whole route that has been sign-posted though maps are only available for Yorkshire, the North East of England, South West Scotland and a ‘Midlands’ route via the Welsh borders to Chester.

The National Byway uses quiet country lanes to link market towns, places of interest and heritage sites.

In addition to the main route, there are 50 circular Loop rides.

The reverse of each map has information about the places you will find on route.

The National Byway maps

National Byways maps
The National Byways maps

Yorkshire National Byway route (including North Lincolnshire)

270 miles (plus 172 miles of additional loops)

  • Gainsborough
  • Barton-on-Humber
  • Beverley
  • Loop to Holderness
  • Hornsea
  • Loop route to Bridlington
  • Malton
  • Easingwold
  • Knaresborough
  • Loop route to Ripon
  • Loop route to Bedale
  • Richmond
  • Barnard Castle

Midlands National Byway route – Chester to Cirencester

307 miles (plus 175 miles of additional loops)

  • Chester
  • Malpas loop
  • Whitchurch
  • Shrewsbury
  • Much Wenlock loop
  • Church Stretton loop
  • Ludlow
  • Leominster
  • Ledbury
  • Tewkesbury
  • Winchcombe
  • Cirencester

North East England National Byway route

205 miles (including Hexham loop of 23 miles)

  • Barnard Castle
  • Bishop Auckland
  • Durham
  • Hexham
  • Kielder

South West Scotland National Byway route

371 miles (including 83 miles of loops)

  • Langholm
  • Lockerbie
  • Annan
  • Dumfries
  • Thornhill
  • St John’s Town of Dalry
  • Newton Stewart
  • Girvan
  • Ayr

The South West England and East Midlands maps are currently out of print.

Click here for maps in the shop: The Midlands, North East England, South West Scotland and Yorkshire maps. Or order below.